Faith, Hope and Love

“Have faith little one
‘Til your hopes and your wishes come true
You must try to be brave little one
Someone’s waiting to love you”
-Excerpt from Someone’s Waiting For You

One day, I told myself, I wouldn’t have to cry when I hear my favorite song. One day, I wouldn’t have to just imagine that forever was possible, because I’d be one living proof.  One day, I told myself, I would speak of faith, hope and love- and know better.

A year ago I took my biggest leap of faith- with eyes shut, I took the plunge in one love. Without looking back, I jumped right in and left everything behind. Some people said I was crazy, that I was a fool. Others hated me for my guts, while others cursed me for the pain I have caused them.

While the rest of the world put their eyes on my every move, I literally turned my back against the world. Instead I took his hand and walked away.

IF you will call that risk my biggest mistake in life, I wouldn’t mind being wrong. I wouldn’t mind being wrong with him, because that biggest mistake was the best gift I have given myself.

I did not only free myself from the bonds of an ugly past, but I also opened my life to a whole lot of possibilities- including the fulfillment of a childhood dream to work as a Journalist.

After faith, we both hoped we could last and weather all the storms together- and with love, here we are a year later, still together and maybe, getting even stronger.

IT is not about one’s stature in life, or about one’s education – but about understanding, patience and love. Maybe too much love to keep it the way it has always been. Our only consolation from the momentary you-and-me-against-the-world phase we went through, was that through it all, not one of us wanted to give up. While things got rough, the more we held on and always, finding enough reason to make it work.

It certainly wasn’t the kind of love you dream about when you were younger, not any sort of a fairy tale — my knight in shining armor this time didn’t come in fancy clothes or expensive car. Instead I fell in love after 2 barbecue sticks and a long-stemmed rose wrapped in brown paper. It only took one lowly driver to make me say yes again in love, and actually believe that this time it will and can last forever.

One day, I told myself, I wouldn’t have to cry when I hear my favorite song. One day, I wouldn’t have to just imagine that forever was possible, because I’d be one living proof.  One day, I told myself, I would speak of faith, hope and love- and know better.

I am sure that day has come. And I will mark my words tonight believing that is true, that this is the one — with faith, hope and love.

 

***Happy anniversary, sweetheart. I will always have more than 1,031 reasons to smile. I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

