A Difficult Breakup

This morning we were set to part ways.

Our breakup was something we knew was coming since May or June this year. We’ve prepared ourselves for this day- by not seeing each other as often as before, or spending time together.

But just when I thought we both were ready for this- he acts up, as if asking me to take him back in my arms. And yes, the sucker for love in me accepts him back- with arms wide open, as the song goes.

Meet my Mac.

I was supposed to sell Mac today to a colleague. Before I did, I made sure it was up and running (save for the useless battery and charger). But as soon as I plugged it into the socket (using my sister’s charger), Mac won’t open up.

It took it more than 30 minutes to finally start up. I took it as a sign, that Mac wasn’t ready as I thought it was, to let me go.

But on second thought I would say, that it must have been me who wasn’t. I wasn’t ready to let go of my Mac despite the headaches it has given me. I wasn’t ready to let it go- because it has been my constant companion, maybe the most constant companion I’ve ever had since I secluded myself from socializing with friends some years back.

It has been witness to my joys, and my pains. It saw me laugh and cry. And the stains on the cover of my white Mac are proof of lazy days and nights, of times when I was too childish to care about anything- yes, even Mac.

Like any other breakup- I wanted to let Mac go because it has been causing me so much pain. I didn’t want to spend extra money to buy another charger and battery (which together costs P12,000) or spend another 500 bucks just to get the CD player running. I didn’t want to buy a new cover to cover up the stains, or spend another thousand to buy a good laptop cleaner.

I was hoping against hope that money to make it look brand new would just fall from the heavens- and yes, the iPad my iPad I named pink was also taking my attention away from the good old reliable Mac.

And so I thought letting it go would end all my problems. Of course it will, because by then it would be somebody else’s problem to answer the repair costs. But then, the bottom line is- I WILL MISS MY MAC.

Just seeing it open up this morning after a good 30 minutes or so, brought back memories of the very first day I saw it. It brought back memories of the day I couldn’t let it leave my fingertips. I remember the days I first played with photo booth, the nights I would download software updates, and the days I would wish I can save enough money to buy it a really pretty laptop bag.

I don’t really believe in second chances, but because my Mac has been that reliable- probably, more reliable and constant than any friend or boyfriend I’ve ever had, I am willing to take it back the second, third, fourth or even 100th time.

Of course, as long as it is alive too.

Leave a Reply

