Farewell, 2009

God knows how excited I was to welcome 2009. I knew then that my life was about to change this year. I was prepared, I thought. I plunged into it and took my dive, blindly. Little did I realize that the changes would not be the ones I prepared myself for.

I resigned from Jollibee. (June)

I went back to school. (July)

I was suddenly a spokesperson for three expressways. (July)

My ex-fiance broke up with me and called off the wedding. (November)

I met him. (October)

I left NLEX. (December)

If there’s a record holder for being the most crazy year in my life, 2009 would be that. My roller coaster of emotions, the things I’ve been through and continue to endure are way beyond me- that sometimes, I wonder how I live to still see another day. But I don’t want to remember 2009 on a sad note, even as I would bid it goodbye mad and hurting.

I guess, I just want to be thankful that things happened the way they did to teach me valuable lessons in life. I learned about career, friends and love. I learned about the importance of family and true friends. I learned about taking risks and not being afraid to fail. I learned about taking the blame and not being ashamed. I learned that people can change in a blink of an eye, no matter how close you think you are. I learned that love can die. I learned that weddings can never push through, and some things you watch in movies really happen. I learned that power can really eat you up. And I learned that forgiveness is difficult, if the pain is too deep.

Most of all, I learned and re-learned that I am as strong and tough as those people close to me think me to be. I re-discovered my passion and would move heaven and earth just to get it back. 2009 has indeed been life-changing, because I found myself again.

Welcome, 2010. Bring it on. =)

Leave a Reply

